London, 8 December 2013

We are now calling for submissions for the 16th annual Martha Gellhorn Prize for Journalism.

The winners of last year's annual Martha Gelhorn Prize for Journalism were Chris Woods, Alice Ross and Jack Serle of the Bureau of Investigative Journalism in London. In presenting the Prize on behalf of his fellow judges and the Gellhorn Trust, John Pilger said: "This was extraordinary work on Barack Obama's lawless use of drones in a campaign of assassination across south Asia. Woods, Rice and Serle stripped away the façade of the secret drone 'war', including how it is reported and not reported in the United States: how civilian casualties are covered up and how rescuers and funerals are targeted. As important, in many respects, as the recent leaks from inside Washington, this was truly pioneering, remarkable work in the highest tradition of investigative journalism."

Renowned as a war reporter and humanitarian, Martha Gellhorn was one of the first reporters in Vietnam to reveal what she called "a new kind of war against civilians": a precursor to the wars of today.

The Martha Gellhorn Prize is given in honour of one of the 20th century's greatest reporters and is awarded to a journalist whose work has penetrated the established version of events and told an unpalatable truth that exposes establishment propaganda or "official drivel", as Martha Gellhorn called it.

Last year's short-list included Andy Worthington, Iona Craig, Carl Prine, Tim Coles, Sam McNeil and Murphy Woodhouse and Alexa O'Brien.