Previous Winners

The 2014 Martha Gellhorn Prize was won by Iona Craig. A freelance journalist reporting from Yemen, Iona Craig received the prize for her courageous, insightful and humane reporting from Yemen — journalism exemplifying that of Martha Gellhorn herself. Often alone, and risking her life, Iona has for almost four years given voice to the ordinary people of Yemen, especially the families of the victims of America's 'war on terror'. Her eyewitness investigation of a drone attack on a travelling wedding party, in which 12 people were killed, is truly a 'view from the ground' and rare evidence of the 'unpalatable truth' that Barack Obama's worldwide 'war by drone' is killing the innocent. Her achievement is set against a record number of entries for the Prize, including remarkable journalism from across the English-speaking world.

In 2013 the prize was won by Chris Woods, Alice Ross and Jack Serle of the Bureau of Investigative Journalism in London for their research into Barack Obama’s drone wars and their consequences for civilians. In 2012 it went to the US journalist and policy analyst Gareth Porter. In addition to the main 2011 prize, won by Julian Assange for WikiLeaks, special awards were made to Jonathan Cook, based in Nazareth, for his work on the Middle East, to Charles Clover of The Financial Times and to Umar Cheema of The News International website in Pakistan for his fearless exposure of government corruption.

Previous winners include:

Ian Cobain (The Guardian)
Dahr Jamail, an independent journalist, and Mohammed Omer (Washington Report on Middle East Affairs)
Hala Jaber (Sunday Times)
Michael Tierney (Glasgow Herald)
Johann Hari (The Independent)
Robert Fisk (The Independent)
Ghaith Abdul Ahad (The Guardian)
Patrick Cockburn (The Independent)
Chris McGreal (The Guardian)
Geoffrey Lean (The Independent)
Nick Davies (The Guardian)

Additional awards for distinguished work over many years in the service of journalism were made to Marie Colvin (Sunday Times) and Jonathan Steele (The Guardian).