Previous Winners of the Martha Gellhorn Prize
2006: Hala Jaber (The Sunday Times) and Michael Tierney (The Glasgow Herald)
2005: Ghaith Abdul Ahad (The Guardian)
2004: Patrick Cockburn (The Independent)
2003: Chris McGreal (The Guardian)
2002: Robert Fisk (The Independent)
2001: Geoffrey Lean (The Independent)
2000: Jeremy Harding (London Review of Books)
1999: Nick Davies (The Guardian)
Jonathan Steele (The Guardian) received a special award in 2005 for his distinguished career as a reporter.